image image

Home Loan Starting 6.70%*


MCD Property Tax - Municipal Corporation of Delhi

About MCD Property Tax

The property tax in Delhi is collected by the municipal co-corporation of Delhi (MCD). The funds collected in the form of property tax are a key source of revenue for the MCD and these funds are used for the maintenance and improvement of civic amenities and infrastructure. Any individual or entity owning land or property in Delhi is liable to pay an MCD property tax or house tax.

Delhi is a large city, both in terms of area and population and thus, the municipal corporation has been divided into 3 regions namely: East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC).

Since the MCD is divided into different regions, the property owners need to identify under which region their property is located and must pay the property tax to the respective MCD only. So, the North Delhi property tax is paid to the NDMC, East Delhi property tax to EDMC, and South Delhi property tax to SDMC.

How to Calculate Property Tax in Delhi?

To calculate property tax rates in Delhi, the municipal corporation of Delhi uses the Unit area system to determine the property tax that needs to be paid by the property owner. The formula to calculate property tax in Delhi is:

Unit Area Value System

Property Tax = Annual value * Rate of tax


Annual value = Unit area value per sq. meter * unit area of property * age factor * use factor * structure factor * occupancy factor

  • Unit area value is the assigned value per sq. meter of the built-up area of the property.
  • The unit area of the property is the built-up area of the property instead of the carpet area.
  • The age factor is the age of the property, where the value of the factor ranges between 0.5 to 1.0.
  • Use factor depends on the type of property whether residential or commercial.
  • Structure factor: Construction like RCC construction attract higher house tax than other low-value constructions
  • Occupancy factor: Property tax on the rented property is higher than that for self-occupied properties.

The rate of tax is determined by the MCD and is available on the official website of the MCD Property tax.

Property Tax Rates in Delhi 2021-22

The area of Delhi is divided into eight categories, i.e. from A to H. Given below is the table detailing the tax rate for different divisions.

Category Property Tax rate on the residential property Tax rate on the commercial property Tax rate on the industrial property
A 12% 20% 15%
B 12% 20% 15%
C 11% 20% 12%
D 11% 20% 12%
E 11% 20% 12%
F 7% 20% 10%
G 7% 20% 10%
H 7% 20% 10%

Step by Step Guide: How to Pay MCD Tax Online?

Due to the ease offered by online facilities, MCD tax payments can now be made online by individuals and other entities. The steps to pay MCD tax online are:

  • Go to the official website of MCD, i.e. Select the ‘Pay Property Tax’ option for the MCD of your region like NDMC, SDMC, EDMC to pay the property tax online. For example, if your property is located in South Delhi, then the South Delhi. Municipal Corporation property tax will have to be paid to SDMC.
  • Once the page is loaded, select the option ‘User login’ if you already have a login, else select ‘New user signup’.
  • While registering as a new user, you will be redirected to a new page and will have to fill in all the required details and submit the same.
  • Now go to the online portal, select your respective MCD and log in with your registered mobile number and pay the property tax online.
  • However, remember that if you wish the tax online, the property must be registered with the portal. You can register the property by applying for a unique property identification number on the portal.

List of Delhi Cities Divided into Categories

Category Main colonies

Anand Niketan, Basant Lok DDA Complex, Bhikaji Cama Place, Friends Colony, Friends Colony East, Friends Colony West, Golf Links, Kalindi Colony, Lodi Road Industrial Area, Maharani Bagh, Nehru Place, New Friends Colony, Panchshila Park, Rajendra Place, Shanti Niketan, Sunder Nagar, and Vasant Vihar.


Anand Lok, Andrews Ganj, Defence Colony, Greater Kailash I, Greater Kailash II, Greater Kailash III, Greater Kailash IV, Green Park, Gulmohar Park, Hamdard Nagar, Hauz Khas, Maurice Nagar, Munirka Vihar, Neeti Bagh, Nehru Enclave, Nizamuddin East, Pamposh Enclave, Panchsheel Park, Safdarjang Enclave, Sarvapriya Vihar, and Sarvodaya Enclave.


Alaknanda, Chittaranjan Park, Civil Lines, East of Kailash, East Patel Nagar, Jhandewalan Area, Kailash Hill, Kalkaji, Lajpat Nagar I, Lajpat Nagar II, Lajpat Nagar III, Lajpat Nagar IV, Malviya Nagar, Masjid Moth, Munirka, Nizamuddin West, Panchsheel Extension, Punjabi Bagh, Som Vihar, and Vasant Kunj.


Anand Vihar, Daryaganj, Dwarka, East End Apartments, Gagan Vihar, Hudson Line, Indraprastha Extension, Janakpuri, Jangpura A, Jangpura Extension, Jasola Vihar, Karol Bagh, Kirti Nagar, Mayur Vihar, New Rajinder Nagar, Old Rajinder Nagar, and Rajouri Garden.


Chandni Chowk, East End Enclave, Gagan Vihar Extension, Hauz Qazi, Jama Masjid, Kashmere Gate, Khirki Extension, Madhuban Enclave, Mahavir Nagar, Moti Nagar, Pahar Ganj, Pandav Nagar, Rohini, and Sarai Rihilla.


Anand Parbat, Arjun Nagar, Daya Basti, Dilshad Colony, Dishad Garden, BR Amdedkar Colony, Ganesh Nagar, Govindpuri, Hari Nagar, Jangpura B, Madhu Vihar, Majnu Ka Tila, Mukheree Park Extension, Nand Nagri, Uttam Nagar, Zakir, and Nagar. Okhla


Ambedkar Nagar Jahangirpuri, Amdedkar Nagar East Delhi, Amber Vihar, Dabri Extension, Dakshinpuri, Dashrath Puri, Hari Nagar Extension, Vivek Vihar Phase I, and Tagore Garden.


Sultanpur Majra