image image

Home Loan Starting 6.65%*


How to Apply For E-Awas and All Its Features

What is awas

The Indian Government offers housing solutions to its employees through the General Pool Residential Accommodation or GPRA system. With this, eligible employees working for the Government of India can apply for housing units based on their requirements and available vacancies via the E-Awas portal.

Here, eligible employees can choose from 11 categories with charges per the selected accommodation type.

What is GPRA?

Administered by the Directorate of Estates or DoE, GPRA or General Pool Residential Accommodation system is a scheme put forth by the Indian Government. With this scheme, eligible employees can avail themselves of housing units at affordable rates.

GPRA work under the Allotment of Government Residences Rules, 1963. These rules are applicable to Delhi and a list of other cities. Under E-Awas, housing units for a particular accommodation type are allotted based on a ‘Unified Waiting List’.

In addition, applications for GPRA are only accepted online via the Automated System of Allotment (ASA).

Who is Eligible for General Pool Residential Accommodation?

The categories of Central Government employees eligible for this eawas house allotment are listed below:

  • Employees working in Delhi

Applicants working in Delhi need to get approval from the Cabinet Committee on Accommodation or CCA for their house allotment. Apart from that, they must reside within the perimeter of NCT.

  • Employees working outside Delhi

Applicants working in the GPRA enlisted cities apart from Delhi need CCA’s approval for their housing allotment proposal. This proposal will then proceed to the Directorate on the joint secretary's approval.

  • Employees with departmental residential accommodation pool

All employees with a departmental residential accommodation pool are eligible for GPRA. In this regard, applicants should have a certificate from the concerned department stating that no such allotment has been provided to any of their juniors. Certificates failing to mention this clause specifically will be rejected.

How to Apply For GPRA?

Eligible employees can apply online for their housing unit allotments under the General Pool Residential Accommodation system via e-Sampada or E Awas by following these simple steps.

  • Application via E-Sampada

Step 1: Go to the E-Sampada portal and select ‘Government Residential Accommodation’

Step 2: Provide the login credentials, i.e. registered contact number, or email ID

Step 3: Fill the DE-II and applicant form, and then follow the steps as they come

  • Application via E Awas

Step 1: Visit this GPRA portal and select the region for accommodation application

Step 2: Fill up the DE-II form to register using the E Awas login credentials

Step 3: Print out this form and forward it to the DoE via your office

After a successful submission of this form, it will activate their account and applicants will be included in the waiting list. Once on this waiting list, they can submit their preference under E-Awas

List of Cities with General Pool Residence Accommodation

The GPRA enlisted cities are divided into six zones. They are listed in the table below:

North Delhi, Chandigarh, Shimla, Ghaziabad, Dehradun, Faridabad, Srinagar
East Patna, Kolkata
South Bangalore, Cochin, Chennai, Calicut, Hyderabad, Mysore, Trivandrum, Secunderabad, Port Blair, Vijayawada
West Mumbai, Goa, Nagpur, Pune, Bikaner, Jaipur, Rajkot,Jodhpur
Central Prayagraj, Bhopal, Agra, Bareilly, Kanpur, Indore, Varanasi, Lucknow
North-east Gangtok, Imphal, Shillong, Agartala, Guwahati, Kohima, Silchar, Siliguri

Offerings Under GPRA Through E-Sampada

Listed below are the offerings under General Pool Residential Accommodation through E-Sampada.

Total localities 340
Total GPRA units 1,09,474
Total guest houses 62
Total cities 70
Total office space 1.25 crore sq. ft.

Procedure for Change of Accommodation

Allottees can apply for a change of accommodation within the particular type they have applied for. In other words, a Type II allottee cannot apply for a Type I accommodation and vice versa. Here are the steps to apply for a change of accommodation –

Step 1: Apply online and send the hard copy of this application to IFC, Nirman Bhavan, DoE or regional office.

Step 2: Allottees can vote for their desired accommodation online during the bidding period.

Step 3: A new allotment letter will be issued in this case, and the applicant needs to accept it within eight days from its issuance.

Step 4: Once the applicant takes possession of the new housing unit, he or she needs to vacate the previous one within 15 days from the date of occupancy.

Failure to vacate the previous housing unit within this specified time will cancel the allotment. In addition, it might result in eviction.

Now that you know about GPRA, E Awas and E-Sampada, you can make informed choices while applying for housing units. You can also contact Bajaj Housing Finance for housing loan at attractive interest rates.